Detained prominent Kashmiri women released from Central Jail

MAJID NABI. Dated: 10/17/2019 8:30:42 AM

SRINAGAR, Oct 16: All the members of Women of Kashmir Group including sister and daughter of incarcerated NC leader, Dr Farooq Abdullah, who were detained by the police during a protest here yesterday were released this evening from Srinagar Central Jail.
The protesting women including prominent civil society activists, senior citizens, academicians and doctors were shifted to Central Jail Srinagar after being detained by the police during a protest at Pratap Park here Tuesday morning against abrogation of Articles 370 and 35A, downgrading of J&K state into two Union Territories, communication black out, curbs on fundamental rights and civil liberties of citizens and detentions of people from different walks of life.
The detainees including daughter and sister of NC President Dr Farooq Abdullah, Safiya Farooq and Suraiya Mattoo were released from Central Jail this evening on furnishing personal surety bonds. An FIR under section 107 of Ranbir Penal Code in Kothibagh police station was registered against them and they were lodged in Central Jail Srinagar. A seal was stamped on their wrists asking them to refrain from indulging in any activity having potential to disturb peace before their release.
At least 13 members of the group wearing black bands on their arms were whisked away by the police after they tried to hold silent protest at Pratap Park on Tuesday. They were later shifted to Central Jail from police station Kothibagh.
The moment main gate of Central Jail was opened; Safiya Farooq with smile on her face came out and without responding to journalists’ queries sat in her car raised her arm showing the seal stamped on her wrist that she cannot talk.
Others detained included Hawa Bashir, wife of (retired) Chief Justice of Jammu and Kashmir High Court, Bashir Ahmad Khan, prominent educationist and civil society activist Qurat-ul-Ain, Ruqaya Sayeed, retired Kashmir University professor, Muslim Jan, Sushoba Bharve, Chairperson CDR, Shamshada Bashir, Zahida Rahim, Bushra Khan, Farida Naqshbandi, Saleema Jan and Dr Shameema. Most of the detained women are retired educationists and one of them is a doctor.



Indian History... Read More



Daily horoscope